Clare Wentzel

I am Clarence “Clare†Wentzel and I too am a modelholic. I have been building plastic models for well over 50 years. I believe that the first kit I assembled was a Hawk F9F Panther. I was around 12 at the time. I first encountered Airfix kits when I was in College where I was studying Aeronautical Engineering and my room mate and I built up a small collection.

I currently build mostly 1/72 scale aircraft, everything from WW I to modern jets.

I joined IPMS first time in 1965 and was a member of a group in Detroit. At the time, we would get together to stuff envelopes with the IPMS/UK Journal and the IPMS/USA Newsletter. While I lived in Detroit, a hobby shop named Warbirds opened and showed us a whole wide world of modeling supplies. Warbirds didn’t last long but shortly thereafter, Jerry Campbell started the Squadron Shop. The shop on John R Road was conveniently on my path home so I regularly stopped to partake of the latest and greatest.

I worked for General Motors for more than 38 years, traveled to many countries and lived in Brazil and Venezuela. I was a member of an IPMS group that started in Saõ Paulo Brazil and, found fellow modelers in Caracas Venezuela including one who shared a love for the vacuform models of Gordon Stevens.

Following retirement, my wife, Marcy, and I moved to Kalamazoo where I am currently a member of the Kalamazoo Scale Modelers. Other hobbies include golf and gardening plus the computer. We have three children and three grandchildren. Our oldest grandchild is a pilot for Continental Express and we are very proud of her.