Applying decal question

luv2bld

I have been an automotive modeler for years and have finally decided that it's time to start on some different projects, mainly fighter type aircraft. My question is how do you apply decals over flat paint? I have noticed most military planes have flat finishes, but decals usually adhere better to a glossy surface. Do you put a coat of gloss than go back and do a flat coat? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Rocky

In a word, you DON'T!

You have to apply decals over a glossy surface on planes too. You either paint them with gloss paint (few camo paints in gloss), or simply apply a clear gloss over the camo before decaling. It also helps to apply another gloss coat to seal the decals. You can then apply your final clear coat (gloss, semi-gloss, semi-matte, or flat) as you see the need.

GIL :smiley16:

Gil has it right. Shoot a clear glosscoat over the whole model, apply decals after it's dry; then shoot another clearcoat. After that is dry again; dull it down with a flat coat. That is the best technique for making decals appear painted on.

Good luck on your new direction; I'm looking forward to seeing what you do. Also, don't hesitate to keep asking questions; we got your back.

The conventional wisdom says gloss coat-decals-flat coat. However, applying a gloss coat over flat paint changes the reflectance and makes the color appear darker. So if you have carefully mixed paint to get the proper color, or bought paint in the proper color you have just undone your work by overcoating it with gloss, unless you lighten the paint to compensate. Here's are two alternatives:

1. Spray your model with satin or gloss paints to begin with. Humbrol makes satin versions of most current camouflage colors, and Xtraclour makes gloss paints in camouflage colors.

2. Use flat paints, but trim away all clear film from the decals. Here's my method: