Need help with a Tamiya M42 Duster

RickCummelin

OK, gotta tell the story first.  I'm a USAF vet, and I belong to a local IPMS Modeling club here in Grand Junction.  We maintain 2 display cases for models at the local VA hospital here in town.  Recently the VA requested that we add some Viet Nam era and some Middle East (Sandbox) models.  We had LOTS of WWII models in the cases, but there are very few WWII vets left, and the vets today are mostly Viet Nam and Middle East vets.  So, since I'm about the only armor modeler in our group, I volunteered to build some models for the cases.  I've already finished 7 models, and have more to build.  But, I'm really trying to do this on the cheap and I'm not succeeding too well.

So, I buy this old Tamiya M42 Duster off eBay for cheap for the Viet Nam shelf.  Seller says "I can't tell if the kit is complete or not."  You know what happened next: Yeah--the kit shows up and it's woefully incomplete.  Of course.  Two sets of tracks and 3 turrets(?), but no parts from the "B" sprue tree.  So while I have some spare parts I don't need, I will simply toss this thing if I can't scrounge up a "B" sprue some where.  Tamiya Customer Service couldn't help as the kit was discontinued years ago.

Lesson Learned: If the seller says he can't tell if a kit is complete or not, it most likely isn't complete.  Buy at your own risk. Duh.

So, does anyone out there have an old M42 kit (or a "B" sprue) they don't want?  I can pay for shipping, but that's about it.  We would like a Duster model, but may have to do without.

Hi, Rick,