Sea Plane Kit with Registration Packet

Hey folks, I am new to IPMS and am trying to break out of just collecting to actually building. My interest is mostly armor, however, I was delited to find a sea plane kit in the registration packet. Not knowing my sea planes, could someone fill me in on what kit this is so I can search for the instructions and decals?

thanks

Michael

If it is the same kit I and my friend got, it is the Airfix Boeing Model 314. It is in 1/144 scale and despite some raised detail, it is a very good kit. The build is straight forward. If you pm me with your snail mail address, I will send you a copy of the instructions. I've got several. Nick Filippone

I got a Minicraft 1/144 Lockheed Columbine III. I thought that getting a bagged kit in the registration packet was the best idea ever!

I too liked the idea of receiving a kit in the registration packet, thanks Minicraft. I'm glad this subject has been raised because I have a question regarding the kit I received. I am an armor builder, but I have an interest in building the DC-6B "the Independence" that I received, but only as an out of the box (bag?) build. The kit as issued can be built as "the Independence", but it would be 6 scale feet too long. The kit instructions show how to correct this by removing the 6 scale feet from the fuselage and how to modify the decals. My question is this; if I make these modifications as indicated in the instructions would it still be considered OOB?

• Like 1

One minor correction. The kits were not donated by Minicraft, but rather by g2 Revolution, an environmental group that recovered them from a storage unit they had to empty out .Their CEO, John Graham, contacted us and asked if we wanted the kits and of course we said yes. There were also a few complete boxed kits they donated that wound up as raffle prizes.

• Like 3