Keeping Panel Lines

crash

I'm a newbie and having a rough time with panel lines.They disappear after I seal seams etc. and sand.

So.......

Do I scribe before doing anything in the way of assembly,or is there some magic that I'm missing?

Building a Tamiya 1/48 A-10.

Using a Pasche single action airbrush.

thanks in advance for any help and comments/critiques.

Sonny

Scribing is one of those things that can make or break a modeler. You need to search for all the tips and techniques venues to get a handle on scribing. Don't get discouraged. Get an old model or a very cheap one to practice,practice,practice on. Most of all don't lose heart. I suggest a good scribing tool and there are many to choose from. The best one I have found is the UMM tool. You can go to UMM-USA.com to order one. I find it the easiest and most versatel tool to use. Take your time,it is a slow process to do a good job.

I believe that old kit may have raised panel lines. If so (or for anything with raised lines), you can rescribe lost RAISED lines "quick and dirty" with a #11 knife blade. It actually pushes up a small ridge while cutting a groove and looks a lot like a raised panel line under a coat of paint.

If you want indented lines, there are lots of tools to choose from. The UMM tool is VERY good, if a little odd looking. Its 2 big advantages are that you can make lines while pushing as well as pulling, and it seems to retain it's edge MUCH better than any other scribing tool.

Always scribe as many lines as you can BEFORE assembly. It allows you to manipulate the parts easier. Panel lines across seams you'll still have to do after assembly. Dymo label maker tape is a GREAT guide for scribing around round areas (like fuselages). Hope this helps a bit!

GIL :smiley16: