How Do You Fill Those Seams On Your Models ?

schooner

Hi Guys (Newbie Here)

Well I just finished putting my first 1/72 P-51 Mustang together and painted it. Decals will come later.

But first, we got a problem Houston . . . lo

Seriously, guys I filed the seams on both side of my plane figuring that I've got a good strong seam WRONG

The stuff I bought being new at this modeling deal was; TAMIYA PUTTY WHITE stuff is rough to work with.

LUMPS that's what I got. Putting it on and then sanding it, i still had a problem.

I figure after I painted with the silver paint it would cover up the LUMPY area - WRONG !

Please see the attachment.

Guys what can I do to improve with using putty. I order MULLIPUT I think that's the way you spell it ?

I read I can thin it out and smooth it on the seams better. I let you know I it turns out on my next project.

Meanwhile, how can I CORRECT what the nose looks like now. I can sand it down, re-sand it and putty it up again with the new putty that's coming in the mail.

O.K. guys I'm in your hands and I'll wait upon you suggestions and DO THEM !

i remain A NEWBIE 4 NOW

post-3123-0-85502700-1483848320_thumb.jpg

Looks like you have a few problems there, but your putty did a better job than you think.

First, what kind of glue did you use to put the fuselage together? The reason I ask is because it looks like you may have used too much in spots. If you look closely, especially close to the windshield, you can see where the plastic appears to have low spots or divots. This is a sign of the plastic sagging in after getting too soft due to too much glue. This is easy to do, especially if you use tube cement, which dries slow and will soften the plastic from within days later. So, use just enough cement to get the job done. Also, I strongly suggest switching to a "weld" type liquid cement. It involves an entirely different technique, but works to your advantage in many other ways.