Just Want 2 Know - Contest ?

schooner

Hi Gang (Newbie Here)

Tell me please, What do judges look 4 when looking @ a model?

And what's the winning prizes ?

Thanks Guys

Ray 😎

IPMS # 50943

Prizes for winning run the gambit from plaques, trophies, medals, certificates. I prefer the little medals because I can place it on the shelf next to the kit. The plaques just end up in a pile somewhere. I know one guy who often turned his plaques into bases for kits.

It's all about the quality of the build and the paint finish, NOT accuracy and/or detailing. Dave pointed you in the right direction; the Judge's Handbook and what they look for.

The best idea is to simply try to be "competitive". Most of the time, the models that win are the models with the least mistakes, and they avoid especially glaring problems.

Study the BASICS of building: proper alignment of all parts, seam work, thinning overly thick parts, being neat (no glue blobs at attachment points); and of finishing: smooth paint (no runs or rough "orange peel" areas), crisp masked paint lines with no thick paint build up at the edges, sharp airbrush camo with "scale" overspray edges, decals applied with no silvering (looks like they're painted on), and consistent weathering applicable to the theater or arena of operations for the subject.

A simple model that is well built and finished will almost always beat out a super detailed model with the basic problems like those listed above.